First Post From A Humble Newbie (1 Viewer)

CAIQUE

Reaction score
Hello All - After months of lurking on the sidelines and lusting over the Paulson's listed for sale in the Classifieds, I finally joined the forum, and this is my first post. After 45 years of working long hours as a business attorney, I will be retiring next month on my 70th birthday, and I am looking forward to finally having the time to begin hosting a friendly, low-stakes, monthly game. I am familiar with non-tournament games (i.e., 5-card draw and 7-card stud), but I have never hosted or played in a Texas Holdem tournament. Obviously, I have a lot to learn. But this appears to be a good place to start. Recommendations as to the best book on poker, safest site to learn and play on-line, and other friendly advice would be appreciated, Finally, I live in Orange County, California (Costa Mesa, Irvine, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach area). So, if anyone local is hosting a low stakes game and needs to fill a seat, I would be an easy mark. Thank you!

Welcome to PCF! Best of luck on your poker and chipping journey.

Welcome sir, nice intro! Congrats on your upcoming retirement and beginning of your chip journey. It’s a slippery slope that should start with getting some samples to find out what you like. Or just dive right in and start buying cool sets. We’re mostly renting anyway and prices have only gone up.

There are plenty of members in your area so you shouldn’t have a problem finding a game and getting to try out some great chips and meet likeminded people.

In the mean time, here is a great start:

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/threads/new-members-start-here.85303/

Welcome! Congrats on the upcoming retirement! Lots of great info here to help you on your chipping and poker journey.

Welcome! We have a large compendium of information.

Welcome!