First Ceramic Design - Ideas, thoughts and feedback very much appreciated! (2 Viewers)

jebu

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hello,

Second post on PCF, let's up some content. This is my first attempt at making something in Inkscape, after a few refreshing beverages I got it done.
I was about to order ceramics with the logo in the middle and a premade "chip layout", the EPT one, but in the end it did not feel personal enough
I got samples, lurking this forum was definitely worth it
The logo is simply drawn over on a photo of my dog, the dog is black and his official name is PORTLAND OR, so that's where the text comes from.

v12_export.png

Any thoughts on colors? Thoughts in general?
I was thinking trying to get a set of these to a breakdown recommended by the chip picker in resources section.
I guess it's possible to print the whole chip if it's ceramic?

I like that your chips look like ceramics, and not an imitation of clay or plastic chips. What samples did you get and which manufacturer(s) are you looking at? I’m not an expert regarding ceramics, but different blanks can give a different look and feel. You should probably get color wheel chips if possible, to help you see how certain color values would look in person.

With ceramics you can indeed print all over, including the edges. Then there are hybrids, a ceramic chip with a recess for a label, creating a different look. A lot of options, so take your time. As the set looks now, I might personally switch the colors between the 1k and 5k chips.

If you need any help with the breakdown, let me know. :tup:

I like that your chips look like ceramics, and not an imitation of clay or plastic chips. What samples did you get and which manufacturer(s) are you looking at? I’m not an expert regarding ceramics, but different blanks can give a different look and feel. You should probably get color wheel chips if possible, to help you see how certain color values would look in person.