Chris Ferguson is a monster (1 Viewer)

When you are a director of a company receiving millions of dollars, ignorance is not an excuse. To my mind that’s just as bad.

I am not saying he was ignorant. They should not have used players deposits for other things like sponsorships and advertising.

But if the DOJ had left them alone everything would have been fine Many companies push the limits and run up some amount of debt in the hopes of bringing their brand to the next level. I am no expert on the situation but this sounds like what happened. The questionable practice of using players funds was sustainable and the brand was a powerhouse.

The DOJ just ruined them as they were stretched too thin financially.

I believe it was an intentional act to commingle player funds and operating funds. I believe it was done because operating costs exceeded operating revenue and the player funds were seen as a cheap (ie free) source of borrowing. I suspect the actions were rationalized by the expectation of future profitability. It was able to persist for awhile due to the fact that most of the deposited money ended up in the accounts of good players who left a lot of it sitting there. When the government stepped in and cut off deposit sources, the Ponzi scheme imploded and we ended up with Black Friday.

I find it very hard to believe that Jesus and the Professor did not know about the commingling. I think they just rationalized it and did not expect the government to make deposits so difficult.

The fact is a lot of people were hurt and they had some level of responsibility. If the government had clear evidence they would have prosecuted. Not sure what justice looks like now but my personal decision is to move on.