Car needs fixed - need advice (2 Viewers)

I worked in the auto repair industry for the first 10 years of my adult life, plus I'm on my second Honda Pilot so I know a bit about Honda engines. Here's my assessment:

Basically, a P0302 code is an engine misfire on the 2nd cylinder. The fact that the SES (service engine soon) light was blinking is a clear indicator that the misfire was happening at that moment.

A solid SES light means that the problem has been detected by the PCM (on-board computer) but not necessarily occurring at that moment.

If the problem was severe enough to cause drivability issues and the blinking SES light was present, chances are oil is leaking into the #2 combustion chamber in high enough volume to foul the plug. Keep in mind a little oil seepage is normal - engines typically burn a quart or more over the course of 3-5000 miles and many do so by design. Especially on vehicles that are more than a couple years old.

I can't really comment on the cost of the repair, but it does seem a bit on the high side. This might have to do with rising labor costs, supply chain issues, etc. I don't know if you're in a large city with many options, but if you are, I'd suggest looking for an independent repair shop that specializes in Japanese imports and seek a second quote.

I disagree with our self-proclaimed PCF redneck Mr. @Ben8257 that changing the plugs and wires will get you by. If it's leaking oil bad enough to foul the plugs to the point of a blinking SES light... putting a band-aid on it might buy you a little time but it's by no means going to be a long term solution. It may only get you by for a week or two before the issue resurfaces. Or it might not do anything of the problem is severe enough.