Basic woodworking question (1 Viewer)

bivey

Full House
Reaction score
it's this time of year when I have some time off and the snow piles up and I go stir crazy.

This winter I have decided to make my first table. I have no experience with power tools which are generally frowned upon in my profession. I would like to make a nice arc as I cut plywood and am curious as to which tool will make a nice arc. I can trace an arc and use a jigsaw, but I know there are more precise methods. Any help would be appreciated.

Please be specific as I have a very small vocabulary in this realm.

it's this time of year when I have some time off and the snow piles up and I go stir crazy.

This winter I have decided to make my first table. I have no experience with power tools which are generally frowned upon in my profession. I would like to make a nice arc as I cut plywood and am curious as to which tool will make a nice arc. I can trace an arc and use a jigsaw, but I know there are more precise methods. Any help would be appreciated.

Snow? its like 70 here in NY!

Most of the time a router on a circle jig is used. I think most people use a 1/4 in spiral upcut bit in the router to make the cut. You can make your own jig or buy one. I have also seen homemade circle jigs for jig saws made as well. Probably check out pefectmancave.com for some tutorials since we lost the pokertableforum. And maybe pokertables.com?? Can't remeber the address of the top of my head.

^^^ best way to do things. Be careful if you haven't used a router before and remember to make a few passes if using thicker plywood. I have a Lewin jig that I like, but as noted you could make one yourself that would serve the same purpose.