Adjusting to good players (1 Viewer)

MuDdy

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I’m kinda new around here but here goes. For many years I had been playing with my normal group of guys, very low stakes $10-$20 a game usually no limit holdem. This group you could play loose or tight and it didn’t matter because people would be drunk and just play with any cards and usually ended up being a luck of the draw situation as to who would end up winning. Don’t get me wrong I won more than my fair share but the games were so unpredictable people would play hands and not even look at their cards all while raising all the way along, that kind of stuff.

That group of friends kind of broke apart and we only get together once every couple of years now. During the pandemic I started playing with a friends poker group and these guys are all pretty decent and are actively playing cards, not drinking and cards, there is some drinking but the focus plus on cards. This is over the internet/zoom. I’ve done ok playing with this group overall but I find that the times I win I play tight in the beginning and when there’s like 3 players left I have to get more aggressive than is my usual comfort zone. If I keep the tight play going my winnings seem to dwindle and eventually I end up losing. But I have a pattern of being the early chip leader and having it go to shit about halfway through the game.

I’m not giving any specifics but do you switch your strategy/play style throughout the game or stick to a method throughout. Any general advice on how to take the chip lead and extend that into more wins or cash finishes. I feel like for how many time it starts off great I should be winning more $$$.